Interesting Devices Ltd
Home Forums Register FAQ Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read
Main Menu

Categories

Products
Random Products


Arcade Control Bundle Pack


GBA FM Radio


Action Replay (PAL Only)


Gamebit Driver 4.5mm


ISO 7816 Dual Speed Smart Card Reader/Writer Interface


Smart Card Reader/Writer Enclosure
Sponsors
sophiesnappycakes.co.uk


  
Go Back   Interesting Devices Ltd > American Satellite > Dish Network > Dish Advanced
Reload this Page How do you reflash a TSOP using a EEprom Programmer?
Dish Advanced For advanced and more technical discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How do you reflash a TSOP using a EEprom Programmer?
Old
  (#1)
GTS
Registered
GTS is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 52
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: GT - SA
Rep Power: 300
   
Default How do you reflash a TSOP using a EEprom Programmer? - 4th January 2002, 03:50 PM

How do you reflash a TSOP using a EEprom Programmer.

I have a Leaper 10 programmer. I have access to one at my work place. This is suppose to be a commercial programmer.

What I want to do is to rewrite the the TSOP with a backup image. It is the original TSOP in the receiver. NO JTAG.

I was told that this unit is sold by DJ ROCK. Help from him is a dead end because I am not the owner of the Unit and I only want to push my boss so far.

I can read the TSOP, but cannot write back to it.

Someone please help.

GTS.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
GTS
Registered
GTS is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 52
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: GT - SA
Rep Power: 300
   
Default 4th January 2002, 07:27 PM

^^
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sprinter69
Registered
sprinter69 is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 70
Join Date: Mar 2001
Rep Power: 317
   
Default 5th January 2002, 05:09 AM

Hi GTS.

I'm not familar with the Leaper 10 but I have dabbled a bit with TSOP on-board programming with limited success.
If you are able to read from the Tsop but not write - I'm wondering if you are properly controlling the WE/CE. You have to actually disconnect them from the the "motherboard" so to speak and control them manually. I'm also wondering if the image that you read is accurate. I've had a few images where the data is shifted because one of my data lines was not working.
I have played with Frohwein's Flash EEPROM programmer found at:

http://www.devrs.com/e/files/flash3.gif


Best of luck.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Mafaniel
Registered
Mafaniel is on a distinguished road
 
Mafaniel's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 189
Join Date: Jun 2001
Rep Power: 431
   
Default 5th January 2002, 05:40 AM

Keep in mind the AM29fxxx uses a different write algorithm than the AT29fxxx or the HY29fxxx, so make sure you selected the write chip. The three all read the same way.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
nimrod
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
   
Default 5th January 2002, 10:20 AM

GTS

What chip are you trying to write??

The leaper10 doesnt support all the chips that dish uses only 1 if memory serves. You may be trying to write a chip the leaper10 doesnt support. This is why everybody buys the leaper11.
  
Reply With Quote
leaper 10
Old
  (#6)
hwac
Registered
hwac is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 19
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ontario
Rep Power: 274
   
Default leaper 10 - 5th January 2002, 01:36 PM

I do own a Leaper 10 as well as a Emp30

The leaper does do all the flash chips the come with dish or exvu ird's.

Now you need the adapter for the chip you have ie. 32 pin 48 pin without this your out of luck, If you do have the adapter you need to pull the chip from board and read in adapter , but why not build a jtag alot easier and less chance to screw it up . Oh no Jtag well you need to pull tsop but go slow and read some other posts re pulling tsops , If you mess up it will be hard to find one of thos.

Hwac
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
nimrod
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
   
Default 5th January 2002, 02:58 PM

emp10 does not do am29lv160 which is found in atleast 4700.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
GTS
Registered
GTS is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 52
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: GT - SA
Rep Power: 300
   
Default 5th January 2002, 03:53 PM

HWAC,

I am OK with the TSOP tear down. I have done a few of these b4 the JTAG came about.

Have you ever rewrote a TSOP using the Leaper 10?

This would have been necessary when Dish sent the "W" update to IRD's sometime ago.

Do you have to jump any pins to do a write back to original TSOPs that came with the receiver?

I was told that the original TSOPs in the receiver might be locked and cannot be updated after it is programmed at the factory. This cannot be true because using JTAG, we can reflash original TSOPS.

Why can it not be done using the LEAPER 10 programmer?

I believe it can be done but I am missing a small step or a trick of the trade.

Thanks for the help all. I do appreciate it.

GTS.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
nimrod
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
   
Default 5th January 2002, 09:54 PM

GTS

Again what chip are we talking about???

The only way to lock most tsops is to cut vcc and add vss to pin seven but I have no clue what chip we are talking about.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
GTS
Registered
GTS is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 52
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: GT - SA
Rep Power: 300
   
Default 6th January 2002, 12:32 AM

Nimrod,

The TSOP is from a 3000 series IRD. The writing on it is very faint but I can make out AM29F040.

I want to use the Leaper10 programmer to rewrite the TSOP.

Thanks.

GTS.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright ©1995 - 2009, Interesting Devices Ltd

Page generated in 0.37208 seconds with 9 queries